I can’t believe I didn’t remember this earlier.  Dianne Watts’ plan to build a downtown in Whalley actually fits right in to Translink’s long-term plans.  Take a look at this section of a map from p. 35 of Translink’s Transport 2040.

Proposed Surrey metro centre

Proposed Surrey metro centre

It’s a bit fuzzy, because I have no idea how to capture images so that they look good, but do you see the blue dot on the right hand side?  Now look at the key to see what the blue dot is.  It’s the “proposed Surrey metro centre.”  When I read that for the first time, I laughed out loud.  Proposed?  Proposed by who?  Translink’s planners?  I bet.  They might as well have just said, “Look, Surrey.  Do you want crap transit?  Do you?  No?  Then get denser.”

Anyway, now it seems like someone with some actual authority is proposing a Surrey metro core.  Maybe Watts is really working for Translink?

